Are computers, as we know it, dead?

There are so many choices for computers these days. I am noticing that many people are under the impression that laptop computers are dead and desktops are an ancient relic. From my experience working at a computer repair/retail store, I can tell you there has been a big shift in sales to mobile computing. There are many companies that are moving to Apple iPads and Microsoft Surfaces. But, no matter how much better the ergonomics and power of computing become, the desktop and laptop following is still very strong.

Ever since I can remember I have had a computer. I had a Windows 3 desktop and a word processor laptop. The word processor was obviously more mobile, but was much more limited than my desktop computer. I also recall the personal digital assistant age as well, and I wonder how anything was accomplished. Watching my father spend precious minutes clicking away at the screen of his Palm V, Fumbling through the slow loading menus and bad formatting. Sitting and waiting 30 mins for the IR to sync with his laptop twice a day, just so he could have a couple contacts added and check off a to-do list. There was always a new gadget popping up and getting handed down to me. The Palm Clie being the epitome of cool for my middle school aged self. Why? You ask. Because this thing was the mother of all modern mobile devices it had an reversible flip folding touch screen and reversible camera … That’s right, the first “high resolution” selfies. It was a cool concept that I loved to show off and talk about when I could steal it away.

There is a new gadget every month now. The Samsung phones come with styluses (God knows why) the screens are curved and sometimes even flexible. A new wave of innovative technology, faster computing, mobility, and ease of use are awaiting you after your next purchase.

Leave a comment